Flying Gems: Hummingbirds by John James Audubon and John Gould

Flying Gems: Hummingbirds by John James Audubon and John Gould is the winter 2014 exhibit for the A.M. Todd Rare Book Room at Kalamazoo College.  The exhibit runs from January 6 – March 14, 2014 and will participate in the January 10th Art Hop.

I considered two pieces of artwork drawn by John James Audubon for the exhibit:  Anna Hummingbird, Hibiscus Virginicus and Ruff-necked Hummingbird, Cleome heptaphylla. In the end, I chose Anna Hummingbird to feature on the poster and postcard. Why? It fit better with my vision of the piece and the full image worked for the poster, and cropped nicely for the postcard.

Usually, I photograph artwork using the Canon T2i. However, for this design I ended up scanning the artwork. I couldn’t get the detail that I desired with my lens.

K 180 Postcard (6″ x 4″)
Flying Gems: Hummingbirds by John James Audubon and John Gould
postcard 6″ x 4″
Flying Gems: Hummingbirds by John James Audubon and John Gould poster 24"x 32"
Flying Gems: Hummingbirds by John James Audubon and John Gould
poster 24″x 32″
Leave a Reply

